The Delaware Medical Marijuana Program authorized the operation of registered compassion centers, which are non-profit entities that acquire, possess, cultivate, deliver, sell, and dispense marijuana, paraphernalia, and related supplies and educational materials to registered qualifying patients and designated caregivers.

Visiting a Compassion Center / Dispensary

A qualifying patient or the designated caregiver acting on behalf of the patient may only obtain medical marijuana from the designated compassion center which the patient registered on his application and as appears on his registration card.

Before marijuana may be dispensed to a registered qualifying patient or his designated caregiver, the compassion center agent must determine that the individual making the purchase is a current cardholder and must verify each of the following:

  • That the registry identification card presented is valid;
  • That the person presenting the card is the person identified on the registry identification card presented at the time of the purchase and presented to the agent; and
  • That the compassion center is the designated compassion center of the qualifying patient.

A registered compassion center shall not dispense more than three ounces of marijuana to a registered qualifying patient, directly or via a designated caregiver, in any fourteen-day period.

To ensure compliance with the limitation, the compassion center shall keep and maintain internal confidential records on the quantity of medical marijuana being dispensed to the patient or his designated caregiver. Each entry must include the date and time the marijuana was dispensed.

Starting a Compassion Center/Dispensary

Compassion centers must have a valid registration certificate from the Department before they can operate. Applicants for compassion center registration certificates must submit the following to the Department of Health and Social Services:

  • A non-refundable application fee of $ 40,000 for a two-year permit;
    The proposed legal name of the compassion center.
  • The proposed physical address of the compassion center and the proposed physical address of any additional locations, if any, where marijuana will be cultivated, harvested, packaged, labeled, or otherwise prepared for distribution by the compassion center.
  • The name, address, and date of birth of each principal officer and board member of the compassion center, providing that all such individuals are at least 21 years of age.
  • Any instances in which the prospective board members managing or serving on the board have been convicted, fined, censured, or had a registration or license suspended or revoked in any administrative or judicial proceeding.
  • Proposed rules and procedures for the administration of the compassion center, regulations to ensure accurate record keeping, and security measures that are in accordance with the regulations issued by the Department.
  • Any other information as may be required by the Department to evaluate the applicant pursuant to the criteria of the competitive bidding process.

A registered compassion center and a registered safety compliance facility may not be located within 500 feet of the property line of a preexisting public or private school.

First State Compassion Center

37 Germay Drive
Wilmington, DE 19804


(302) 543-2100


Delaware Medical Marijuana Dispensary

37 Germay Drive
Dover, DE 19720


(202) 670-4420

Don't Wait Any Longer

See if you qualify and start your recovery today

Do I Qualify?